Showcasing the economic city and benefits

Abuja Light Rail System

The Abuja Rail Mass Transit commonly known as Abuja Light Rail is a new light rail network being developed in Abuja, the capital city of Nigeria. It is the first light rail system being developed in Western Africa, and second such system in sub-saharan Africa (after Addis Ababa Light Rail).

The first phase of the project connects the city center to Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, stopping at the standard gauge railway station in Idu. Launched on 12 July 2018, it opened for public passengers the following week.

abuja light rail

The Abuja Light Rail System is mainly intended to reduce the traffic congestion and offer an enhanced travel experience to the commuters in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) region of Abuja.

Abuja Light Rail Details

The Abuja Light Rail System is an integral part of the Abuja Rail Mass Transit System and the FCT Transportation Master Plan. Implementation is planned to follow in six lots, and a feasibility study for the remaining lots is currently under progress.

The project was initially proposed in 1997 but faced numerous delays due to funding issues. CCECC Nigeria was awarded a contract for the construction of lots one and three under the project in May 2007.

abuja light rail

The light rail network developed under the first phase has a total length of 45.2km. Lot 1, also known as the Blue Line, has a length of 17.89km and connects Nnamdi Azikwe Expressway with the Abuja metro station (transportation centre) and runs through Gwagwa and Kubwa.

The 27.2km-long Lot 3, or the Yellow Line, connects the transportation centre with the Nanmadi Azikwe International Airport.

The two lines include 12 stations, 13 bridges, 21 operational offices, nine pedestrian overpasses, and 50 culverts.

A three-month test run was conducted prior to the commissioning of the light rail system

Planned Routes

The Abuja rail mass transit project Phase 1 consists of a ‘Lot 1’ and ‘Lot 3’ line.

Lot 1 Line consists of Lot1A and Lot1B line. Total length is 23.718 km (14.738 mi).

  • Idu Station Terminal Outside
  • Idu Station Route
  • Idu Station Platform

abuja light rail

Lot 1A (Proposed Stations) – Idu – Gwa Gwa – Dei Dei – Jibi – Gbazango – Byazhin – Kubwa

Lot 1B (Proposed Stations) – Ring Road 1 – Garki – Transportation Centre – Wuse – Employment Centre – Utako – Jabi I – Jabi II – Ring Road III – Gwarinpa – Karmo

Lot 3 (Proposed Stations) – Abuja – Stadium – National Park – Ring Road II – Wupa – Idu – Airport North – Airport

The complete network is planned to link Abuja with satellite towns such as Nyanya, Kubwa, Mararaba and Lugbe. Centenary City also plans to incorporate a light rail connection linking to the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport and the Central Business District.

Some of the lines extend from the Federal Capital Territory into the neighboring states.